top of page

Smoke Up or Get Blown Out

Getting winded from a smart doe can ruin any hunt and could even ruin your day. People have always pushed for the scent lock and the scent away sprays but those have never worked for me. What I do before going out, knowing I am going to be open to wind change, is go into my smoker. I know it sounds crazy but trust me, it worked. Code Blue even sells called “Smoke” so there some validity to what I am talking about.


I read this tip in an old western book. The Native Americans would walk through smoke before going out hunting. The deer do not give it a second thought if they smell something like a fire or BBQ going but will sometimes not even enter the field if they are downwind from you. Granted, you will smell like a BBQ pit after doing this but it works. Sitting in the smoke also kills the bacterium that causes human scent to occur.



One hunter I know who does this just sits out in a lawn chair in the woods and have had deer walk past him at 15 yards. Granted, there are some things that can cause this not to work. Doing things such as working on the farm in your camo will cause your scent to lock into the fabrics so making sure you wash your camo is important. Trying to only hunt in your camo is something that you should try also.


Overall, this smoking up method has worked great for me. I have had deer walk straight downwind from me and I have not gotten one snort since I have started this. Try it and let me know how it works for you.

8 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page